REAL DEAL AUTO BLOG

“Inquiring minds want to know: “Wolfey,.. why did you switch to the Eagle??”

Posted in Uncategorized by wolferadio11 on January 30, 2010

Wow, I’m a bit overwhelemed with the amount of concern over our little announcement this morning.  I’ve NEVER seen so many emails from listeners, and nearly every one of them positive 🙂   All of your communications, removed any doubts I had  about making this move.  

The Truth Is….The head honcho at 105.3 The Fan didn’t like me , and I got tired of hanging out at a company that wasn’t playing to win.  The GM of The Fan had great success in talk radio programming in other markets, he came to Dallas to ‘Fix the Fan’.  Everyone that works there fears this fellow, everyone is on eggshells all the time, his recipie for caller driven radio is not working in Dallas, and I had other options.

I have no ill will towards CBS Radio.  Actually made some great friends there, and I strongly believe that are paths will cross again.   The Fan is struggling, as is all radio, the PD there is on a mission to repair it.  I wanted to be one of the founding nameplates of building that station to what it could be, Bigby didn’t want me becuase I did not have enough big market radio experience.  I left for Rock and Roll format,  6 times larger audience, and an DFW staple station in KEGL.  Everyone knows where the Eagle is on the dial.

I love the Eagle, grew up on it.  I know our show will improve when I am allowed the flexibility to produce the show that has been living in my mind for years.   Station managment encourages that……Talk about walking into a 180 degree environment.   In example, the fan wouldn’t allow me pick my own intro music (not even from their own playlist).  I was told no to: intro’s, outro’s, soundeffects, music beds, bits, schtick, remotes, guests, and anything else that could improve our product.   It was a very ‘awkward’ circumstance that I choose to work in, but it was very well worth it.

It’s done now.  Thank you CBS for giving me that initial shot, no matter how constricted and frustertating it was.  We’re on in Houston, Austin, already have deals with Sacramento, San Antonio, and more markets are developing weekly.  It’s an exciting time, we just built a new private studio in FTW to host the show, and a new backend system on the web to tie it all together. 

Thank you listeners, for all your encouraging and inspriring  notes I recieved today.  It’s been 15 years in the making, but it seems to be time to connect the dots.

John Clay Wolfe

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jerry Sutherland said, on February 2, 2010 at 2:10 AM

    sorry-posted this comment on the electric motor article where it obviously makes no sense.
    Anyhow here we go again: Comments ‘Take 2’
    “clearly a better gig”

  2. Greggo said, on February 4, 2010 at 2:04 PM

    So do you like your gig?

    That wasnt the question.

    Do you like your job?


Leave a Reply

