REAL DEAL AUTO BLOG

Cult of Personality: Japanese Cadillacs

Posted in Uncategorized by wolferadio11 on October 20, 2009

30260220001_largeInfiniti is the luxury car division of Japanese automaker Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. Infiniti officially started selling vehicles on November 8, 1989.  Lexus is the luxury vehicle division of Japanese automaker Toyota Motor Corporation. First introduced in 1989.  Both are quantified under Real Deal Vernaculary terms as ‘Japanese Cadillacs’

My question is the same today as back in 92 when I was seriously considering a lightly used Q45.  “Why are Infiniti’s drastically cheaper than Lexus on the preowned market?”  I can attetest that Infiniti has closed the pricing gap down considerably over the decades, but it is still there, bigger than Dallas.

Why did The LS Sedan become the gold standard of Hentai Luxury for M.D.’s, while Q was left over for the D.O.’s?  I’ve driven both cars (LS and Q) considerably throughout the years.  I know these cars, I love them both, they are not that different.  I am here, to proclaimate that Lexus (Toyota) has simply out marketed it’s Nissan rival, not out engineered it. 

Personally, I would take a new S Class over either model, probably just Benz has out marketed both of them, and Britney Spears drives a Benz Coupe, but the infini’s are nicer than you think.   If you are considering saving 20 grand during the Obama administration, to do your part for cutting back, then try an infiniti this round instead of that S, 7, or mid life crisis z06.  You may be surprised. 

If you follow both brands progression, they have tracked one another ruts identically.  Think about the early models.

Previous Matchups

The infiniti J30 vs Lexus ES250 (infiniti winner)

J30 vs ES300 (Lexus stomped em) 

G20 vs Chevy Cavalier (infiniti won, I think)

M30 vs Anything (Anything was victorious in all tests)250px-2Infiniti_M30

Any Lexus sport Ute vs Infiniti anything (Lexus won)

But, this story is about the flagship car, the big mama SEDAN, and it is my personal belief that the Q has been racially profiled for years.  And…and…I’m going to take a position here, please forgive my beligerancy, but…In 1997, the Infiniti Q45 with those big ass pimping wheels, was a better looking car the the 1997 competitve Lexus sedan.  And I’m here to tell you that there is more to Infiniti than a poor man’s Mercedes.  There, I said it, it’s off my chest..let’s all act like that never happened, ok?   JCFW

Leave a Reply

